Testimonials / reviews

"Testimonial / review

Wow. This home is the reason I try hard not to give 5 star reviews. It's totally a 10. Location, beauty, cleanliness, the staff that manages it, their recommendations, the area. Flawless. I d never seen a historic home feel so modern and comfortable. Please note the 4th bedroom works more like a casita as it is not attached. Lots of walking trails with stairs that lead down to old Nice. Quite a trek up the hill once you get down though. Makes you feel less guilty for all of the delicious dinner options: Le Réserve and La Mayssa were incredible stops. The artwork in the house is also inspiring. I simply can't wait to go back. I'm a little sad it's all over. Until next time ♥️

Jennifer - USA

Holidaymaker - Sept 2019

"Testimonial / review

Villa Dracoena is an absolutely beautiful property. We enjoyed the outside decks, the pool and the convenience of the location to stores and restaurants. Donna was a big help to us arranging rides and trips! Highly recommend!

Maureen - USA

Holidaymaker - July 2022

"Testimonial / review

Absolut 5 Sterne !

Wir (vier Freundinnen) haben Ende Oktober eine tolle Woche in der wunderschönen Villa verbracht. Bereits der Check-in mit Donna verlief total komplikationslos. Die Villa ist wirklich perfekt mit allem ausgestattet, was man sich vorstellen kann. Schlafzimmer, Betten, das ganze Haus war für einen angenehmen Aufenthalt vorbereitet. Es stand alles mehr als ausreichend zur Verfügung. (Handtücher in großem Ausmaß, Föhne, Küchenutensilien, Gewürze, Wasch- und Spülmaschinenpods etc.) Es mangelte wirklich an Nichts. Wir hatten das Gefühl, die Villa würde uns von Freunden zur Verfügung gestellt. In den geschmackvoll und stilsicher eingerichteten Räumen haben wir uns rundum wohlgefühlt. Die Bilder übertreiben keinesfalls! Wir haben alles gern genutzt. Die Balkone mit ihren wunderschönen Aussichten (auch nachts); den nicht geheizten Pool, der noch ausreichend warm war; die Küche und den großen Tisch, um zu kochen und zu spielen. Zusätzliche Bemerkung: wir mussten feststellen, dass die Anmietung eines Autos (von einem Ausflug nach St. Tropez mal abgesehen) völlig unnötig war. In drei Minuten Entfernung befindet sich ein ausreichen ausgestatteter Carrefour, der Lebensmittel und alles für den täglichen Bedarf anbietet und sogar einen Lieferdienst anbietet. Dort befindet sich auch eine Bushaltestelle. Der ÖPNV ist insgesamt super.

Sabine

Holidaymaker - November 2022

"Testimonial / review

Absolutely beautiful and loved the place! Very spacious and would definitely come back!

Megan - US

Holidaymaker - March 2023

"Testimonial / review

What an absolutely amazing place! We loved and enjoyed every minute of our stay in this beautiful and charming house, fantastic views over Nice and the sea and a really pretty garden. A plus was the super market only a few minutes away. Florian was a really nice host with excellent communication. I really hope to come back soon!

Linn - Sweeden

Holidaymaker - Feb 2019

"Testimonial / review

What an absolutely amazing place! We loved and enjoyed every minute of our stay in this beautiful and charming house, fantastic views over Nice and the sea and a really pretty garden. A plus was the super market only a few minutes away. Florian was a really nice host with excellent communication. I really hope to come back soon!

Linn - Sweeden

Holidaymaker - Feb 2019

"Testimonial / review

 Spacious & beautifully furnished villa with superb views over the bay. Lovely heated pool set in very pretty garden. An outstanding property. We had a fabulous week.

Judith - UK

Holidaymaker - April 2022

"Testimonial / review

we were a family of 6 and this Villa exceeded our expectations in every way. Donna met us at the Villa to greet us and was just so lovely. The French decor was just what we wanted. The space was large. Beautiful kitchen and the bathrooms were plentiful. The beds were very comfortable and air conditioning was great. we loved opening the doors for a breeze. The salt water pool was spectacular along with the beautiful gardens around. We walked to the market right down the steps each day for fresh food. for transportation, we had no trouble getting picked up right at the Villa when doing day trips. The location was so peaceful and we sat on the rooftop each night watching the sunset enjoying each others company. The setting is stunning. Ive already recommended this Villa to my friends and booked it for next year already. Thank you for a dream week with my family. You provided us with so much kindness.

 

Jenell - US

Holidaymaker - June 2023

"Testimonial / review

Exceptional

This is our second wonderful stay at the villa. We love the views, the pool, the garden and the spacious and beautifully furnished interior. We always receive the warmest of welcomes.

 

Judith - UK

Vacationer - April 2023

Leave a review after your stay!

8 + 8 =

Leave a review after your stay!

10 + 4 =

Avis Client / Customer Review

A place of pure beauty and serenity

This Villa is a place of pure beauty. My husband and I had been looking for some time for a Villa that fulfilled our criteria, which included 'Must be of Belle Epoque vintage'. We had the best holiday ever here, relaxing in those beautiful surroundings of the wonderfully cared-for gardens and the fantastic views of the sea and mountains. We appreciated the care that had gone into creating a beautiful old atmosphere - - and the fact that it really felt like our home for those weeks. The gardeners were so very helpful and kept the garden well-watered and tended (beautiful blue agapanthus by the way - it was July and very, very hot!). I gather the garden has been kept to its original design/inspiration which I think is lovely. There was always somewhere shady to find to sit with a book and a drink and of course plenty of sunny spots. The pool was very welcome too. We loved the kitchen and the very 'cool' ice-machine! The décor was fabulous - tasteful and a bit decadent at the same time and the atmosphere was soothing and reassuringly old-school. We had such a relaxing time, it felt as if time had stood still for us and we really escaped the hustle and bustle of life.We did not want to leave! We hope to return again - it really is a special place, a real one-off treasure in a prime spot

July 2010 - UK

Avis Client / Customer Review

Others have already indicated how well the reality fits the description on the website. We spent April 2013 there with a combination of our children and grandchildren and all agreed it was fantastic location and very well appointed. We really enjoyed our time at the villa and felt some sadness at having to leave. Once our childrens' families had left we remained for a further very relaxing 2 weeks Given various combination of families staying with us we used 3 of the 4 bedrooms including the garden room and found them all to be great. The recent renovations of the bathrooms has been well done. The owner Pascal is easy to deal with and the caretakers were excellent and unobtrusive yet there when we needed them. While the late Spring meant we could not enjoy all of the facilities, such as the pool, we were pleased to watch the change in the garden over the 4 weeks we were there. We also enjoyed the walks on Mount Baron and once walked around to Villafranche for a lovely lunch. We would certainly recommend the villa to our friends and relatives. It really is well located and well appointed for a great time on the Riviera

Paul K - March 2013 - USA

Avis Client / Customer Review

We have had the best vacation of all times. The house is unbelievably beautiful, and we treated it with respect. We spent a lot of time by the pool and barbecued in the sunset. The area is perfect for running and hiking, and Nice is an interesting city. We were seven persons all together, everybode loved the place, and we had an unforgettable week together.

Tone D - June 2014 - Denmark

Avis Client / Customer Review

High enough up Mount Boron to have fantastic views over the bay but close enough to the center of Nice to walk down in half an hour - no need to have a hire car. Villa itself is very well equipped and ticked all our boxes for luxury. Pool was warm enough to use without heating (I believe you can ask for it to be heated though).

Paul- Oct 2015 - UK

Avis Client / Customer Review

Highly Recommended!

This villa was exceptional. We have travelled all over Europe and it was the only place we rented that exceeded our expectations and was even more spectacular than the pictures depicted. The caretakers, Christian and his wife, were extraordinary and kept the house nice and clean and were always there to help when needed. I would recommend this property to anyone looking for a place with easy access to the French Rivera.

Dan - Sept 2016 - USA

Avis Client / Customer Review

 

We stayed at the villa in May 2017. The villa is beautiful with views of the sea. The location is perfect, as it is in a quiet section of Nice. The villa is clean with a large kitchen and comfortable bedrooms. The pool and gardens are peaceful. A private garage was available, which was a plus as we rented a car. We were able to walk down to the Promenade (40 minutes) and enjoyed the awesome view while exercising. We also used Ubers to get into town quickly to shop in the open air markets, dinners, etc. Day trips to Monaco and Eze Village were easy. My husband, an avid cyclist, arranged rides up into the hills with Azur Cycling Tours. The scenery was stunning. Would definitely recommend this villa!

 

Diane L - May 2017 - UK

Avis Client / Customer Review

A week in Nice

We are a family of seven enjoying a week at the lovely Villa Dracoena placed near Cap du Nice. The location is perfect; quiet area but still very close to the city (5-10 min. by bus or Uber), close to the cliffs where we did some fantastic snorkling and close to Coco beach and close to the super market (3 min. walk). The house is spacious and there is a great pool area. Perfect stop for a family of 6-8 persons in Nice

 

Thomas A - July 2018 - UK

Avis Client / Customer Review

Great location, beautiful views and fast communication. Some added bonuses were the local tips and arrangement of transportation to and from the airport as well as to some sightseeing locations.

 

 

Jasmin - Oct 2018 - USA

Avis Client / Customer Review

 

Large, beautiful and functional house, great garden with lots of nooks and crannies to discover, the view from the different terraces is magnificent, we spent 15 superb days in a very well placed location 😉

.

 

 

Julie - November 2020 - France

Avis Client / Customer Review

Our summer delight
My family and I have spent three very happy and delightful summer holidays at Villa Dracoena and look forward to many more. Staying at the villa is a delight. The villa itself is beautiful and the large gardens are superb, Both the villa and the gardens are blessed with magnificant views and I truly mean magnificant views. As stated above we love the villa and the gardens but for us, what makes staying at Villa Dracoena really special are the people involved with it. The owner of the property really cares that your stay at the villa is an enjoyable one, and the caretakers who look after the Villa to the very hightest of standards, are so friendly and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble for them. My family and I look forward to our next stay at Villa Dracoena. It is always a delight

 

 

July 2008 - Ireland

Avis Client / Customer Review

My group of eight friends enjoyed our stay tremendously at Villa Dracoena in early June. From my initial emails to the owner Mr. Gautier, to our final checkout with the property manager, our stay was smooth, easy and incredibly relaxing. First, the practical information: we chose this location in the upscale Mount Boron neighborhood because we were not renting a car for the week and we needed to be able to access tourist destinations and amenities by foot. The biggest benefit is the villa's proximity to a very nice Carrefour supermarket, which is just a five minute walk down a lovely set of semi-private steps. This made barbecuing, last-minute wine runs and gathering supplies for picnics very easy. The villa is also a ten minute walk to rocky Coco Beach. Please note the return walk is quite steep but it's good exercise and the beach is beautiful and different from typical sandy beaches. Just across the street from the supermarket is the bus stop where you can catch affordable 1.50 euro buses to destinations like Monaco, Eze Village, Port St. Jean, and Old Nice/downtown. For the first half of our week we loved taking the bus, especially to Port St. Jean and Paloma Beach - so convenient and cheap! However halfway through the week the French rail operators went on strike, meaning every bus for the rest of the week was packed or delayed. We never made it to Monaco which was a big disappointment, but given how nice the rest of our trip was it didn't matter. Other transit options are cabs (which were fairly responsive and reliable when called) and the Velo Bleu bike share about a 10 minute walk down the road.

The villa itself has loads of charm reflected throughout its eclectic yet chic furnishings. The first (street-level) floor has an open kitchen-dining-living room with two beautiful patios with incredible ocean views. Downstairs are three bedrooms with three recently remodeled bathrooms, one with a small washer/dryer. The fourth bedroom with en suite bath is accessible through a separate outdoor garden entrance. We initially feared that our friends staying in this room would feel separated from the rest of the group, but it was not an issue. We wholeheartedly would recommend this villa and hope to stay here again. The pool and beautiful gardens alone made it feel like we ad our own corner of paradise. Thank you to Mr. Gautier for his help in making our stay in Nice so pleasant and memorable.

 

Stephan B - June 2014 - USA

Avis Client / Customer Review

Terrific! Views, pool, grounds

Wonderful property for our family of eight (3 generations). Luxury villa with spectacular views, lovely grounds, heated pool. Quite secure in quiet upscale neighborhood. Very accommodating owner. Just a note- seniors, like me (72), should be aware that this is a hilly area so long walks were not for my wife and I, though all the others did well. I must give a big shout out to the wonderful Uber drivers in this area. They were prompt, their vehicles spotless and top of the line (we used Uber Van) and they will go far afield. This was the best Uber service we have experienced anywhere. All this made for a truly great holiday!

 

Michael - May 2017 - USA

Avis Client / Customer Review

 

I had an excellent stay in this magnificent villa, with everything close by (beach, port of Nice, town, shops...). The view of the Promenade des Anglais is truly breathtaking. The house is very clean, really luxurious and very well equipped. The welcome was warm and we had all the essential addresses in Nice to make the most of our stay. I highly recommend villa dracoena

 

Sara B - May 2018 - France

Avis Client / Customer Review

Great villa, great location Perfectly equipped Extremely clean VERY picturesque Great sea view Nice garden Large (4 bedrooms in total) Supermarket is 2 minute walk Great both for romantic getaways as well as families Very close to major attractions and tourist points Thank you for all!

 

Galina - May 2018 - Russia

Avis Client / Customer Review

 

Wow. This home is the reason I try hard not to give 5 star reviews. It's totally a 10. Location, beauty, cleanliness, the staff that manages it, their recommendations, the area. Flawless. I d never seen a historic home feel so modern and comfortable. Please note the 4th bedroom works more like a casita as it is not attached. Lots of walking trails with stairs that lead down to old Nice. Quite a trek up the hill once you get down though. Makes you feel less guilty for all of the delicious dinner options: Le Réserve and La Mayssa were incredible stops. The artwork in the house is also inspiring. I simply can't wait to go back. I'm a little sad it's all over. Until next time ♥️

 

Jennifer AH - Sept 2019 - USA

Avis Client / Customer Review

 

Villa Dracoena was absolutely the BEST way for us to experience Nice for 5 days. Donna met us at check-in and explained everything with the house to us. Bathrooms and kitchen are updated. There is every appliance that you need in the kitchen, including a coffee pot for us Americans, rather than just an espresso maker. Also, if coming from the states, be sure to bring outlet converters. Bedrooms are spacious and there are plenty of bathrooms. Washer and dryer are separate units, which makes laundry much faster. We used the balcony outside the kitchen for looking out over Nice while we were eating. The rooftop balcony was even more amazing and we had drinks and appetizers up there every evening and watched the sunset. Just gorgeous. Careful of the spiral staircase, it can be tricky. The grocery market at the bottom of the stairs is so convenient! Make sure to bring your shopping bags with you, there are plenty in the kitchen. We did not rent a car and used Uber to get everywhere. You may find it much easier to use the market as your pick-up and drop-off location, which is what we did. The road next to the villa is very narrow and only one-way. Uber rides into town and back averaged about $11 each way. Still less than renting a car and don't have to worry about parking. We are already planning our return trip to Nice and will absolutely be staying in Villa Dracoena, if it is available.

 

Tom - Oct 2022 - USA

Ask us a question

Contact us if you have any questions before or after booking.

Discover nice

Reservation

Ask us a question

Contact us for any question before / after your reservation

Discover Nice

Booking

How to get here

Contact & access

Villa Dracoena

22 Route Forestière du Mont-Boron, 06300 Nice, France

Contact

contact@villadracoena.com
06 09 16 57 35

from the airport

From the airport by car, take the Promenade des Anglais to the port at the eastern end of Nice. The villa is 1.5 km from the port of Nice on the way to Beaulieu and Villefranche-sur-Mer. A secure garage and plenty of free parking are available on site.

Transport

Visit bus stops which serve many destinations in Nice and the Côte d'Azur, are just 100 meters from the villa.

Car-free

Without a car, the tramway from the airport arrival terminal takes you directly to the port of Nice in 25 minutes. Then take bus number 100 from the port of Nice to the villa in 10 minutes (Maeterlinck stop).

Practical info

Visit shops and services A Carrefour store, a pharmacy and a doctor are just a five-minute walk from the villa.

Join us

Getting here

Contact & access

Villa Dracoena

22 Route Forestière du Mont-Boron, 06300 Nice, France

Contact

contact@villadracoena.com
+33 6 09 16 57 35

From the airport

From the airport by car, take the Promenade des Anglais to get to the Port in the far east of Nice. The villa is 1.5 km from the port of Nice towards Beaulieu and Villefranche-sur-Mer. A secure garage and many free parking spaces are available on site.

Transport

The bus stops which serve many destinations of Nice and the French Riviera are located 100 meters from the villa.

Without car

Without a car, the tramway at the exit of the airport arrival terminal will take you directly to the port of Nice in 25 minutes. You must then take bus number 100 to the port of Nice to get to the villa in 10 minutes (Maeterlinck stop).

Practical information

The essential shops and services are accessible in five minutes on foot from the villa, including a Carrefour store, a pharmacy and a doctor.

Get to us

Best available rate
By booking on this site, you can be sure of getting the best available rate. Cancellation is free up to D-30.